Our road trip from Perth to Karalundi

The road trip we did this last October will be etched in my heart forever.

I still don’t understand why no one had previously urged me to visit W.A.

Can I just say right now… PLEASE GO AND VISIT! It is amazing. The western desert is particularly beautiful.

Above is a map of the road we took from Perth (which is just off the map to the left) to Karalundi.

Love the names of the places out there – this is where we turned left and didn’t stop for 8 hours…

I really should have started taking these photos as soon as I started to see the signs for how far it was to Meeka. It seemed like FOREVER.

I loved the difference in the scenery from Perth to Karalundi.

Take a wide berth when you pass trucks and road-trains, don’t ask why, just trust me on that one.

My smiling driver

Paynes Find is out in the middle of no where, surrounded by nothing but shrubs and red dirt. We stopped to fill up with petrol but they had run out. So we used their bathrooms and what do you know, the water had run out as well – only an hour before we arrived!

Out in the desert, the colours of the scenery change dramatically when the sun drops.

Road train at Mount Magnet Truck Stop and Petrol Station.

A Magnum at Mount Magnet tasted so good – it needed to for $5.50 a pop. How cute is little Malcolm? That kid is a legend.

Perfect example of a stunning sunset in the west.

The rains-a-coming!

This is where we opened Sabbath – don’t know how far it was from Meeka, but I’m pretty sure we were close.

See how much the scenery changes?

This is our little oasis in the desert courtesy of Google. Ain’t it beautiful?

More photos to come of our stay in Karalundi… give me a day or so :)

1 thought on “Our road trip from Perth to Karalundi

  1. Pingback: Karalundi – An oasis in the desert | Adventures Of A Pastor's Wife

Leave a comment