God’s will for your life

On Friday night, I went with my sister to the Teen program at our church called GEM & ROCK. It is an awesome opportunity for the teens in our church to get together, hang out and chat in a safe environment.

Vanessa was asked to be on a panel to chat to the girls about boys, friends, love and all the gooey stuff that us girls love to chat about! While the boys were in another section of the church mucking around doing boy-stuff, the teen girls got to lounge around and anonymously submit questions which were on their heart.

One of the questions asked was “How do I know God’s will for my life?” The panel answered the question really well, and this morning while I was reading “The Great House of God” (Max Lucado; 1997, Thomas Nelson,) from the chapter “How God reveals his will”, I found the below which sums up how I feel and how I would answer that question:

“Want to know God’s will for your life? Then answer this question: What ignites your heart? Forgotten orphans, Untouched nations? The inner city? The outer limits?

Heed the fire within!

Do you have a passion to sing? Then sing!

Are you stirred to manage? Then manage!

Do you ache for the ill? Then treat them!

Do you hurt for the lost? Then teach them!

As a young man I felt the call to preach. Unsure if I was correct in my reading of God’s will for me, I sought the counsel of a minister I admired. his counsel still rings true. “Don’t preach,” he said “unless you have to.”

As I pondered his words I found my answer: “I have to. If I don’t, the fire will consume me.”

What is the fire that consumes you?

(Lucado, M (1997). The Great House of God – A home for your heart. Nashville: Thomas Nelson. p78.)

Well?

What is it?

Lucado goes on to write on p79

The fire in your heart is the light of your path. Disregard it at your own expense. Fan it at your own delight. Blow it. Stir it. Nourish it. Cynics will doubt it. Those without it will mock it. But those who know it – those who know Him – will understand it.

4 thoughts on “God’s will for your life

  1. Love it love it!! Similar to Bill Hybels idea of ‘holy discontent’. Love the concept and so true! Feed it, live it, love it, love Him!! Only someone who also understands the christian idea of a ‘calling’ on your life understands how undeniable and unavoidable this calling is and how unrewarding it may be. But how fulfilling is it to live out His calling on your life. Unreal.

  2. Reminds me of Sister Act 2 “If you wake up in the morning and you can’t think of anything but singing first – you’re meant to be a singer!”

    I’d love to be a fly on the wall on a panel like that. So many things I would tell teenage me :P

Leave a Reply

