Our Chateau – Avignon

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Richie’s love language is gift giving. He particularly loves to give and organise surprises.

On the train to Avignon, he announces “I have a surprise for you!!!”

“I know. We are staying in a Chateau tonight.”

“Whaaaaaat??? How did you know?”

“I’m your wife, I know everything!”

I didn’t know, I just guessed it.

Chateau des Fines Roches is located about 15 mins from Avignon old city. It was a quiet contrast from our Paris hotel room. The view over the vineyard and olive grove allowed us to stop and smell the roses (or pick the un-rippened grapes!), rather than squeezing every single last second out of the 12, sometimes 14, hour travelling days in Paris.

At the Chateau, we had the opportunity to study the art and science of good eating with the stunning 4-course meal at dinner.

For my 30th birthday, my good friends Lisa (who I went to uni with) and Peter gave me Larousse Gastronomique. For this non-chef, it is a little daunting to flick through the pages. Now that I have tried some of the dishes on our trip, I can’t wait to get back and try my hand at dishes like Boeuf Bourguignon. Though, I can promise you that I definitely will pass on Tartare de Boeuf and Cassoulet (Pork and duck fat stew).

You could say we are eating our way through France. But, that would be the understatement of the year.

3 thoughts on “Our Chateau – Avignon

  1. Pingback: Grandma’s Little Bakery – Fedra Olive Grove, Collector, NSW | Adventures Of A Pastor's Wife

Leave a Reply

