Cafe Richelieu & Angelina’s – Musee du Louvre

For our last actual day of touring Paris, we ate like King Louis XVI and Queen Marie-Antoinette.

After paying our dues to Madame Mona, Mademoiselle Liberty, Mademoiselle Marie-Madeleine, Monsieur Napoleon, and the thousands of other works which hang/stand in the Louvre, we needed some time out to refuel. Cafe Richelieu was the hot tip on some of the “Louvre Strategy” sites which I researched. It is the cafe on the top floor near the entrance to the Napoleon Apartments in the Richelieu Wing. We got there at midday, which was perfect timing as we walked straight in and got a table by the window looking out over the famous Pyramid. In the lunchtime rush hour, others have had to wait for up to 30-60 minutes.

Oh my, how we were not disappointed! I walked out wanting to have a little lie down so I could fall into a deep food coma and dream about how great our food was. The last time I felt this way was Thanksgiving 1999 with Tio Sal and Tia Alma. It doesn’t happen often, but my goodness, I don’t regret any minute of it. Can I just say, I hope the chefs at Angelina’s will be in charge of catering when we get to Heaven.

People either side of us we’re eating the French favorite Tartare de Boeuf
i.e. raw beef cakes with a garnishing of carrot, parsnip and beetroot chips. I’d rather vomit, thanks. Richie had his favorite quiche and I ordered the Salade Angelina Saumon Fume (Smoked Salmon Salad). Oo la la, it was the best salad I’ve ever had in my life.

The desert options were mind-blowing. The French truly know how to serve up their pastries, slices, tarts, cakes like no other culture I know.

I ordered a Citrus Tart and Richie had a Vanilla Slice plus we ordered Angelina’s world-famous hot chocolate, which again incidentally was reviewed by Jordan on Oh Happy Day.

If you ever have the opportunity to visit the Louvre, swing past Angelina’s. It’s pricey, but the food is Amazeballs (thank you Vanessa Pereira) and it won’t disappoint.

Leave a Reply

