Wednesday Words to Live By – Mark 10:13-16

 

I found the above image on Flickr one day when I was scouting for inspiration. It is entitled “Comfort” and is of the photographers mother, another pastor’s wife, and his niece.

“My mother asked me to take a picture of her and my niece. I thought this expressed the bond between Grandmother and Grandchild.” Mark Patton explains on his Flickr site.

Truth is, I could see my Mums hands on that Bible and my daughters hands, lightly wrapped around hers.

Mark 10:13-16 (The Message)

13-16The people brought children to Jesus, hoping he might touch them. The disciples shooed them off. But Jesus was irate and let them know it: “Don’t push these children away. Don’t ever get between them and me. These children are at the very center of life in the kingdom. Mark this: Unless you accept God’s kingdom in the simplicity of a child, you’ll never get in.” Then, gathering the children up in his arms, he laid his hands of blessing on them.

I love this bit. It’s a “Don’t mess with me” statement made by Jesus: “Don’t ever get between them and me. These children are at the very center of life in the kingdom.”

Mark Patton retains all rights to the above image “Comfort” – please contact him directly through Flickr for details and permission to use.

Wednesday Words to Live By is inspired by She Smiles A The Future

Leave a Reply

