Happy Martin Luther King Jr Day!

Over the last few days, I’ve been gearing up to start blogging again after an awesome summer holiday in Toowoomba and Brisbane. Aussies, and anyone listening/watching the news here in Australia, would read this and think that I’m mad or just being sarcastic. Despite the rain, the mud and the floods, we had a brilliant time.

Due to the enormity of the floods and the devastating effect on the lives of our brothers and sisters in Queensland (and now other parts of Australia), I honestly have not been in the mood to blog. It’s strange, while I was at Camporee all I wanted was some wireless and a laptop so I could share with the world how much fun we were having with our 2500 kids. But relaxing at Karyn’s home in Brisbane last week glued to the TV, my heart was a million miles from Adventures of A Pastor’s Wife and with the people who had lost everything, particularly their family. Since arriving home, I have slowly been working on getting my thoughts down of those last few days in Toowoomba and the week in Brisbane. It could be under construction for a while…

So to start the creative juices flowing, I thought that it would be fitting to have a quick step back in time as today is Martin Luther King, Jr Day in USA.

According to Wikipedia…

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day is a United States federal holiday marking the birthday of Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. It is observed on the third Monday of January each year, which is around the time of King’s birthday, January 15. The floating holiday is similar to holidays set under the Uniform Monday Holiday Act, though the act predated the establishment of Martin Luther King, Jr. Day by fifteen years.

This is a man who revolutionised society as we know it today. To think that MLK was a pastor of a church who had enough of the social and civil injustice and decided to stand up and do something. He inspired and encouraged millions of others to do the same. Growing up in Australia, and living here all my life, we really weren’t exposed to the richness of his story and the weight of his actions. It was last year’s East Coast Road-Trip – New York to Atlanta when I truly began to appreciate this man.

Below are some of the posts which I wrote back then:

The best $10 we’ve spent in the USA

A few quotes which have come from my week in Georgia

Dr Martin Luther King, Jr – What a man!

Ebenezer Baptist Church – Dr Martin Luther King’s family church

Hi, we’re here to see Elvis – Memphis, Tennessee

After reading the last post on the above list tonight, I realised that I didn’t post our visit to the Lorraine Hotel in Memphis, where MLK was shot. It was incredible to see the hotel room which has been left as it was on the day he was killed. Below are some of the photos I took while I was there with Darren and Ruth.

One thought on “Happy Martin Luther King Jr Day!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Happy Martin Luther King Jr Day! | Adventures Of A Pastor's Wife -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

