A day like today…

You know when you have one of those days that you wish you could rewind and do it over?

I had one of those today. It wasn’t the greatest.

Throughout the day my extra curricular activities included dropping a TV on my drive-way face down, randomly crying on the phone to Richie… (HELLO honesty!… this is WAY before dropping my TV. FYI, he’s in Melbourne on a school excursion), stressing all morning about finding some paper work so I could get my expensive leaky bladder replaced – Not my own bladder in my body, but the one that carries 3 litres and I put in my backpack. Get it? Got it? Good.

Then tonight I found my pearl earing that I thought I vacuumed up last night! The neighbours probably thought I won Lotto. Truth is, they cost me  30 Baht in MBK, Bangkok but my sister and I bought a matching pair and I thought I lost them forever. Crisis over.

Reality is, my problems are nothing compared to some. Starving children, human trafficking, orphans. Need I go on?

What I love is that God throws you into situations that snap your reality back to what really matters. So, what really does matter?

This is how he did it for me….

Tonight I took Richie’s car over to Castle Hill to get my leaky bladder replaced. On the CD player as I jump in was this song:

Be Thou My Vision – my favourite hymn in all the world. This is the hymn I walked down the aisle to on my wedding day. It touches my heart every time I hear it. If you don’t like the acapella version which is sung in a bathroom, then check out the clip below. See if you recognise any of these faces.

English Versification – by Eleanor Hull, 1912

Be thou my vision, O Lord of my heart,
naught be all else to me, save that thou art;
Thou my best thought by day or by night,
Waking or sleeping, thy presence my light.
Be thou my wisdom, thou my true word,
I ever with thee and thou with me Lord;
Thou my great Father, I thy true son;
Thou in me dwelling, and I with thee one.
Be thou my battle shield, sword for the fight;
Be thou my dignity, thou my delight;
Thou my soul’s shelter, thou my high tower:
Raise thou me heavenward, O Power of my power.
Riches I heed not, nor man’s empty praise:
Thou mine inheritance now and always;
Thou and thou only first in my heart;
High King of Heaven, my treasure thou art.
High King of heaven, my victory won,
May I reach heaven’s joys, O Bright Heaven’s sun!;
Heart of my own heart, whatever befall,
Still be my vision, O Ruler of all.
2 thoughts on “A day like today…

Leave a Reply

