When I finish Oxfam…

So it here it is.   

This is my list.   

Its kinda like a Bucket List, and kinda not.   

It’s a list filled with stuff I want to do after I survive the Oxfam Trailwalker race.   

If you have been hiding under a rock, this is THE race that I foolishly said yes to participating in. It is 100kms in 48 hours from Brooklyn to Mosman through the bush and a tad of suburbia. It is another way to torture yourself and shave a few years off your life. Only a few days ago my brother-in-law emailed me about the apparent Bush Fear which is circling us. Apparently he had read that at 80km you begin to have internal bleeding in your knees. HOMYGOODNESS. Yep, HO-MY-GOOD-NESS. You see, it’s a 100km non stop. I mean you get to take pee breaks and stuff… and eat. But there is no time to go home to have a nana-nap. The clock just keeps ticking.   

Every morning this past week I’ve been waking up at 3am and the first thing I think of is “You’d be walking still if this was Oxfam Weekend.” I think it is because it is August and the race is about 3 weeks away. It’s a scary feeling.   

Our encouragement to each other when we did Kokoda was “Toughen up princess.” That doesn’t fit for Oxfam… and it’s old. Our new Oxfam saying is “You’ll be right.” It’s what my brother-in-law says to my sister in the perfect condescending voice. I can’t help but laugh every time he says it. It gets her all firey, its hi-lar-ious. All I hear in my head when we are in the bush training is “You’ll be right.” “You’ll be right.” “You’ll be right.” “You’ll be right.” “You’ll be right.” “You’ll be right.” “YOU’LL BE RIGHT!” YES YOUR KNEES ARE BLEEDING ON THE INSIDE, BUT YOU’LL BE RIGHT!”   

So! Back to the list….   

When I finish Oxfam…   

1. I’m going to weed the garden and plant my camellia’s.   

Why? Because it’s been neglected since Autumn before we went to America and every weekend since we have been back has been spent trekking 30km’s minimum. 

It needs some love. 

Badly. 

Hello Weeds!

Leave a Reply

