A few quotes which have come from my week in Georgia

I love quotes.

I think we get inspiration from them, at least I do. Today Miss Tanya posted on the Amen Sister blog with a quote. I read it and thought to myself, I’ve got a quote post prepared somewhere…

Below are some quotes that I heard around about town while I was at the General Conference. Some are inspiring, some are interesting, and some are just funny. There are a stack more, the problem is I didn’t throw them on my iPhone. Consequently, I’ve totally forgotten them.

So here they are…

“Don’t worry about putting your heels on, keep your flat shoes on. No body will care.” – Someone said it to me while I was pulling my heels out of my handbag laughing and swapping them for my flats on the last Sabbath of G.C. Wow, that’s deep.

“She knows she won’t get into office, unless she passes through Ebenezer.” The Rev at Ebenezer referring to one of the church visitors who is up for state election. Hmm, I don’t know about the pulpit being a political place.

“We need a Saviour and I suggest Jesus.” – The Rev at Ebenezer Baptist Church. Loveit.

“Everybody can be great. Because everybody can serve.” Dr Martin Luther King museum. So what are you doing?

“If it’s not the Word, then it’s not worth being heard!” Dr Byrd, Friday night devotionals. Amen.

“God expects me to wear the armour that he has given me, not someone else’s.” One of the Victorians who was asked to speak in the Pastor’s Corner segment. So are you wearing yours? Are you content with yours or coveting someone else’s? Or do you have someone else’s on altogether?

“Let it spill! Let the oil of God spill!” – Dr Byrd again. Amen Elder Byrd! Do you have a booking for next Sabbath?

“Jimmy Carter was the only president who saw his presidency as an opportunity to greater things.” TV promo for Jimmy Carter Museum. Now what is the greater thing which you are working towards?

5 thoughts on “A few quotes which have come from my week in Georgia

  1. This almost made me cry:

    “God expects me to wear the armour that he has given me, not someone else’s.” One of the Victorians who was asked to speak in the Pastor’s Corner segment. So are you wearing yours? Are you content with yours or coveting someone else’s? Or do you have someone else’s on altogether?

    I will now steal it for a post (but the post won’t go up until tomorrow).

    T.

  2. Pingback: Miss T’s Blog » Blog Archive » Your Armour

  3. Pingback: Happy Martin Luther King Jr Day! | Adventures Of A Pastor's Wife

  4. Pingback: Your Armour | Kiki & Tea

Leave a Reply

