I love The Pioneer Woman

On the first day of official “Church Business”, I explored the big wide world of the CNN Center.

Apart from your classic American fast food joints, like Dunkin Doughnuts, Starbucks and Chick-fil-A, there are a few gift stores downstairs for us tourists to spend our dollars. One of these stores is a book store. As I wandered in looking for a $3.86 trashie mag, there she was smiling at me.

“Pioneer Woman! What are you doing here?”

I couldn’t believe my eyes! Inside I did a little squeal, and a jig, and grabbed her with both hands and didn’t let her go. I almost raised the book up to my cheek to rub it against my face like you do with newborns.

“I love you, I love you, where have you been all my life!?!”

This cookbook was at the top of the “Things I want to buy in the USA” list which I established before we left Sydney. I was excited.

Dear Pioneer Woman,

Here are 10 reasons why I love you:

  1. You have a similar “I can’t believe I’m here, married to you” experience like me. Two city girls marrying country boys. We both would never have imagined we would fall head over heels for these lads. (Read Pioneer Woman & Marlboro Man’s Love Story here – it’s the best! I read 40 chapters in 1 weekend. I haven’t done that much reading since David Beckham’s autobiography. Their story is going to be made into a movie.)
  2. You are soooooo unbelievably funny
  3. You have fabulous photos and you like helping other people take/photoshop fabulous photos
  4. You don’t take yourself or your situation seriously – you know how to have a good laugh at yourself and your surroundings.
  5. You are an active and committed Christian and you are consciously raising your children to be as well.
  6. I heard about you from a Tweet from Dr Phil’s wife (RANDOM!) on Twitter. It went something like “Hi Ree, my girlfriend has just got me onto your blog. You’re hilarious and I love you!”  (DOUBLE RANDOM!)
  7. You are stuck on a monster-big ranch with lots of cattle in the middle of America far away from any kind of civilization and sushi-trains and I secretly want to have an oasis like that.
  8. Your blog is never-ever-ever-ever boring. I like hearing about how messy your home is and that your kids like to wrestle and that you prefer to send the kids to work out on the ranch with their father so they don’t annoy you.
  9. You have a cook-book which is more than a cookbook, but an insight to your life with your family on that monster-big ranch.
  10. You inspired me to blog.

With love and many more happy posts,

The Pastor’s Wife

One thought on “I love The Pioneer Woman

Leave a Reply

